History of the Lac La Ronge Indian Band



JAMES ROBERTS BAND Chief James Roberts signed adhesion to Treaty Number 6 on February 11, 1889 (Paylist of 1889)

La Ronge & Stanley Mission Chief James Roberts 1888 - 1901 (Under one Band)

Treaty 6 document is available in PDF form



In 1895, Peter Ballantyne and 7 other families of Ballantyne were paid annuities under James Roberts Band (Pay list of 1895). In 1900, Peter Ballantyne was allowed to form his own Band under his name in Pelican Narrows (Pay list)

La Ronge & Stanley Mission Chief Amos Charles 1901 - 1910 (Under one Band)

In 1910, James Roberts Band split into two Bands: one under James Roberts, the other following Amos Charles (Pay list of 1910).

In 1910, James Roberts Band split into two Bands: one under James Roberts, the other following Amos Charles (Pay list of 1910).

Under James Roberts Band



JAMES ROBERTS BAND

La Ronge, Sask Chief Joseph Charles 1910 - 1946 (After the split)



JAMES ROBERTS BAND

La Ronge, Sask Chief Moses Ratt 1946 - 1950 (After the split)

In 1910, James Roberts Band split into two Bands: one under James Roberts, the other following Amos Charles (Pay list of 1910).

Under Amos Charles (Pay list of 1910)



AMOS CHARLES BAND

Stanley Mission, Sask. Chief Amos Charles 1910 - 1930 (After the split)



AMOS CHARLES BAND

Stanley Mission, Sask. Chief Walter McKenzie 1930 - 1945 (After the split)



AMOS CHARLES BAND

Stanley Mission, Sask. Chief Nehemiah Charles In 1950, the Bands amalgamated and became as the Lac La Ronge Indian Band (Preliminary Report, 1972)

LAC LA RONGE INDIAN BAND Join Chiefs



Chief Moses Ratt 1950 - 1955



Chief Nehemiah Charles 1950 - 1955

There was no Chief from 1955 - 1967



La Ronge & Stanley Mission Chief Isaiah Charles 1967 - 1969 (After amalgamation)



La Ronge & Stanley Mission Chief John Cook 1969 - 1971 (After amalgamation)



La Ronge & Stanley Mission Chief James Myles Venne

1971 - 1983 (After amalgamation)



La Ronge & Stanley Mission Chief Thomas (Tom) McKenzie 1983 - 1985 (After amalgamation)



La Ronge & Stanley Mission Chief James Myles Venne 1985 - 1987 (After amalgamation)



La Ronge & Stanley Mission Chief Harry Cook 1987 - 2005 (After amalgamation)



La Ronge & Stanley Mission Chief Tammy Cook-Searson 2005 - Present (After amalgamation)